What is Nest js and should I use it?

JT Earl
4 min readJan 17, 2019
Photo by Irina Blok on Unsplash

Overview

I am currently working on a Nest js project for a large enterprise company. Before using Nest I used Java for all of my web services. After experiencing Nest, I feel that it is superior to my old Java ways and want to share my reasons why. By the end of this article, you will have a 10,000-foot view of what Nest js is and if it is right for your next project. Let's get started:

Nest was developed by Kamil Myśliwiec and was designed as a framework to rapidly build server-side applications. Myśliwiec was heavily inspired by Angular and it shows in the structure of a Nest application. The Angular inspiration can be seen with its use of controllers, providers, modules, and pipes. All of these fit into a folder structure that looks similar to how an Angular application would look.

Pro’s of Nest

A beauty of Nest is that it has positioned itself at a unique crossroad of front end and mid-tier development that many languages have struggled to find. For any Java Spring developers Nest will feel great out of the box. The framework is very annotation-driven with everything from endpoints to Swagger documentation being generated from them. A lot of the nasty Node.js and ugly JavaScript has been hidden by these annotations and the results are delightful. The annotations don’t just benefit…

--

--

JT Earl

Programmer Since 17. Currently working in front-end and mid-tier programming for a finance company. Check out my Tech blog @ documentobject.com